Laurie Alberts

The text you type here will appear directly below the image

Biography and News

Laurie Alberts is the author of three novels (Lost Daughters, The Price of Land in Shelby, and Tempting Fate); a story collection (Goodnight Silky Sullivan); two memoirs (Fault Line and Between Revolutions: an American Romance with Russia), and a craft of writing book (Showing & Telling). She has received a Michener Award for the Novel, The Katherine Anne Porter Prize, the Pirate's Alley Faulkner Society Prize for short story, and an American Fiction award, among others. Laurie attended the Iowa Writers Workshop and has taught writing at several colleges and universities.


Forthcoming in March 2016 A WELL MADE BED, a collaborative novel written with Abby Frucht

NOTE: Laurie also works one-on-one with private writing students desiring critiques, editing, or coaching. Click the "email the author" link if you are interested.

Selected Works

"... covers absolutely everything necessary for teaching both fiction and creative nonfiction..." -- Alice Fogel, Poet Laureate of New Hampshire
“...vivid... precisely detailed and convincing... as involving and moving as a novel”
--Kelly Cherry
“A thoughtful, wrenching portrait of obsessive love.”
“...beautifully written.”
--Library Journal
“...a richly observed tale of suffering and survival.”
--Publishers Weekly
"The shocking nature of...lies and their consequences lend power to this affecting novel." -- Booklist
"Alberts' subtle imagination and voice make for a poignant, resonant collection." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review
"A rich deep novel...Laurie Alberts writes with an easy grace that clarifies strange sights..." -- The New Yorker